What Makes Your Car or Truck a Lemon Under the Law in Kansas? Nov08

Tags

Related Posts

Share This

What Makes Your Car or Truck a Lemon Under the Law in Kansas?

If you have purchased a car that has turned out to be more trouble than it is worth, you are in luck. In every state of the country, there exists what is known as lemon laws. These laws are meant to protect you as a consumer to ensure you are not getting ripped off. A Kansas lemon law will entail the following things.

Major Defects

Automobiles can only be considered lemons if they have defects that meet the definition of substantial. For example, if your radio does not work, it is not considered a lemon. However, if your brakes or transmission fail shortly after purchase, this would certainly be considered a lemon under the law.

Age Limits

If you buy a 15-year-old car, it is not going to be considered a lemon no matter where you live. Generally speaking, the vehicle must be no older than 24 months from the date of manufacture or be under 24,000 miles, whichever event comes first.

Attempted Repairs

In most states, you must have attempted to repair the vehicle without success a minimum number of times before any sort of legal complaint can be filed with the court. This number will vary by where you live so check your local laws.

Time Spent Being Repaired

In conjunction with the attempted repair requirement, many states also specify that the vehicle must be in the actual shop for a minimum number of days before a Kansas lemon law complaint can proceed. This also varies by state.

If you need to file a complaint under the umbrella of your state’s lemon laws, contact Krohn & Moss, Ltd. Consumer Law CenterĀ® today.

Be the first to like.
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
Be Sociable, Share!