Types of Medical Assistant Certifications Sep14


Related Posts

Share This

Types of Medical Assistant Certifications

Medical assistants play a big role in the healthcare sector. Their main job is to guarantee that the healthcare works smoothly, giving satisfaction to the patients. In addition, they welcome patients, schedule appointments, update medical records and collect and organize medical supplies. For these specialists to be capable in their work, they need certain certifications, and they include:

Certified Medical Assistant ( CMA)

To be able to sit for the AAMA ( CMA) exam, you need to graduate from a postsecondary medical assisting program. In addition, the program must hold accreditation from the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES) or the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).

Therefore, to be an AAMA certified medical assistant, you should pass the AAMA ( CMA) examinations. The examination is administered by the American Association of Medical Assistants ( AAMA). It is a world-class certification that’s acknowledged by employers nationally and internationally. The AAMA certification exam is tough and comprises four forty-minute segments. It tests your knowledge on the following:

• Medical insurance
• Management of health information
• Healthcare delivery
• Safety and infection control
• Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)

This certification is given by the National Healthcareer Association (NHA), a requirement for medical assistants. The NHA certification has less demanding requirements that involve work or practical training. To qualify for the CCMA credentialing exam, you need the following:

• A high school diploma/GED equivalent
• Have gone through a medical assistant training program over the last five years.
• Have finished a year of experience in supervised medical assisting in the last 3 years.

Registered Medical Assistant (RMA)

The American Medical Technologists (AMT) administer the RMA. Just like AAMA certified medical assistant, it’s also recognized by allied healthcare and many employers in the USA. Today more employers are under pressure to hire medical assistants with the right certifications. It will ensure their readiness, skill, commitment, and achievement are high standards. There are four ways to qualify for the RMA certification exam.

• Be a graduate from an accredited medical assisting program within the last four years.
• Have a formal medical assistant training program from the US Armed Forces
• Have work experience as a medical assistant for about five years of the past seven years doing clinical and administrative duties.
• You have worked as a medical assistant instructor for at least five years and graduated in a healthcare-related discipline.

In every career, there are certifications that you need to qualify for the position. It’s not different in the medical assisting career; you can achieve one of the certifications and be ready to work.

Be the first to like.