There Need Not Be Bodily Contact In Order to Be Charged With Assault Nov29

There Need Not Be Bodily Contact In Order to Be Charged With Assault...

Texas Penal Code section 22.01 addresses the crime of simple assault. In short, a simple assault occurs when one person commits an intentional act that causes another person to believe that he or she is about to suffer physical harm. For example, holding a closed fist in front of the face of somebody and threatening that person with physical harm qualifies as an assault. According to our our assault attorney San Antonio, a person can be charged with assault in Texas in one of the following ways: By causing the imminent apprehension of harmful or offensive contact. Intentionally causing harmful contact. Intentionally causing offensive contact. Penalties A simple assault that causes a minor injury is ordinarily charged as a class A misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. If the offense is charged as a class B misdemeanor, it’s punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine not to exceed $2,000. If charged as a class C misdemeanor there is a fine of up to $500. There are times when prosecutors might want to upgrade the offense to a felony. For example, an assault committed on a public servant, a government worker, an emergency worker or a security guard might be charged as a felony. If the assault is charged as a class 3 felony, it’s punishable by between two and 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Defenses There are several defenses that are available to a person charged with an assault in Texas. The most commonly used defense is that of self-defense. Even on a conviction for simple assault, there can be collateral consequences involving employment, housing and educational opportunities. You’ll want an effective,...

How to Get Started with the Car Accident Lawyer in Olympia Oct17

How to Get Started with the Car Accident Lawyer in Olympia...

A car accident can leave behind great injuries and major damages. When someone is seriously injured, they need to be aware of their rights to seek help from the Car Accident Lawyer in Olympia. Getting help from a lawyer helps to ensure the rights of the victim are protected at all times. How to Get Started with the Lawyer To get started on the process, injured victims need to first schedule a consultation appointment with the Car Accident Lawyer in Olympia. The lawyer will listen to the account of the injured victim and ask them questions. It is important the injured client is able to relay as much information as possible so the lawyer can begin forming the case. The injured party will need to make a decision on whether they will hire the lawyer to help them. The lawyer will immediately begin investigating the claim to gather as much evidence as possible. In any car accident claim, the evidence is key for being able to prove liability and the measurable damages suffered. What Steps Will the Lawyer Take? The lawyer will negotiate with the insurance company and work to hold them accountable for the measurable damages they owe. Dealing with the insurance company is not always easy and sometimes causes a lot of aggravation. It is wise to have the lawyer working on behalf of their client for the fairest outcome. If the insurance company is not fair, there is the option of filing a lawsuit. Many people think this is their only option, but it is usually used as a last resort when other methods do not bring closure. Even when a lawsuit is filed, there is still the chance a settlement can be reached. The lawyer will pursue the method that...